Fantasy Baseball

Wow, it’s been a while since I last posted. I guess I’ve been busy. Not really. But I have been preoccupied lately with a few things, chief among them being my fantasy baseball team.

 

I love fantasy baseball. I love all fantasy sports, actually. I regularly play fantasy football, basketball, hockey, even fantasy NASCAR (and I really can’t stand watching NASCAR)

 

But fantasy baseball trumps all the other ones. I guess that makes sense because baseball is, by far, my favorite sport. Last Saturday, my fantasy league held its draft at a local tavern. The draft is my favorite part of the fantasy season. It’s a chance to get together with the other owners in your league and have good time with some other baseball fans. As much as the internet has revolutionized fantasy sports, I think an on-line draft stinks. I believe draft day should be a social event shared with friends.

 

This is my first year playing in this league. It is a keeper league that has been running for a few years. I inherited a team from a guy who dropped out. The rules for the keeper league are pretty simple, you can keep any 2 players you wish, but you lose the draft pick of what round they were picked the previous year. For example, if you picked CC Sabathia in the 5th round last year, you lose your 5th round pick this year if you decide to keep him.

 

I studied the roster of my new team to see what 2 players I was going to keep. The first choice was simple.

player

 Nate McClouth, OF Pittsburgh Pirates.

The previous owner picked up McClouth via waivers. Meaning, to keep him I had to give up my 30th round pick. Pretty easy decision, I think.

My second keeper was a little more difficult. I know starting pitching isn’t as important as good offense in fantasy baseball. But I wanted a chance to get a top-tier stud starter. Tim Lincecum and CC Sabathia were off the board, as they were being kept by their respective owners. Because of that, I decided on keeping:

player

Johan Santana, SP, New York Mets

I lose my second round pick by keeping Johan, but I think it will be worth it. I think Johan is the best pitcher in baseball, hands down. And I think with the additions of K-Rod and JJ Putz in the bullpen will result in more W’s for the Mets Ace.

I think that’s a pretty good foundation for a good team. With the keepers out of the way, we continue on with a normal snake-order draft. I was fortunate enough to get the second pick. Here’s how I did. (Remember, many fantasy stud were already off the board before the draft began.)

ROUND       PLAYER

  1. Grady Sizemore, OF, Cleveland
  2. NONE due to keeping Johan Santana
  3. Kevin Youkilis, 1B/3B, Boston
  4. Fransisco Rodriguez, RP, Mets
  5. James Shields, SP, Tampa
  6. Garrett Atkins, 1B/3B, Colorado
  7. Carlos Delgado, 1B, Mets
  8. Shane Victorino, OF, Philadelphia
  9. Ryan Doumit, C, Pittsburgh
  10. Jhonny Peralta, SS, Cleveland
  11. Jose Lopez, 2B, Seattle
  12. Vernon Wells, OF, Toronto
  13. Kevin Slowey, SP, Minnesota
  14. Torii Hunter, OF, LA Angels
  15. Chien-Ming Wang, SP, Yankees
  16. Melvin Mora, 3B, Baltimore
  17. Yunel Escobar, SS, Atlanta
  18. Milton Bradley, OF, Cubs
  19. Brett Myers, SP, Philadelphia
  20. Matt Capps, RP, Pittsburgh
  21. Coco Crisp, OF, Kansas City
  22. Alexi Casilla, 2B Minnesota
  23. Jered Weaver, SP, LA Angels
  24. Fred Lewis, OF, San Fransisco
  25. Bronson Arroya, SP, Cincy
  26. Daniel Murphy, OF, Mets
  27. AJ Pierzynski, C, White Sox
  28. Joe Blanton, SP, Philadelphia
  29. Troy Percival, RP, Tampa
  30. NONE due to keeping Nate McClouth

I’m pretty happy with the results. I already made a tiny change, dropping Joe Blanton to pick up Marco Scutaro, jack-of-all-trades infielder from Toronto. I think I have a good mix of power and speed on offense and some good pitching.

That being said, I’m sure I’ll finish in last place.

Drop me a line if you think I royally screwed up, and tomorrow I’ll be writing a tribute to my all time favorite player, and he never played for the White Sox.

 

HINT: He has starred the longest-running commercial in cable television history.

Till next time!!!!!!

4 comments

  1. tobymergler

    Hey there

    I like your team, getting McLouth in the 30th is fantastic. I also love the Peralta pick and getting Myers that late could also pay big dividends, as he was awesome after he came back from the minors. Doesn’t look like a last place team to me.
    Good luck this year, if you ever have any questions or just want to talk fantasy baseball, stop on by my blog.
    – Toby
    http://welcometotheshow.mlblogs.com/

    PS – I’m guessing Fred McGriff is your guy. I swear that Tom Emanski commercial has been on for 20 years.

  2. sssoxfan

    Toby- Thanks for checking out my blog. I will most certainly be checking out your blog during the year for some quality fantasy advice!

    Melissa-Sizemore is a White Sox killer. I figured I might as well draft him so when he hits 2 homers ans steals 2 bases in one game against us this year, at least I’ll get something out of it!

    Julia-For both our teams sake, I hope you’re right!

Leave a Reply

